Members Only Area

Upcoming Events

Kappa Scholarship Endowment Fund

Join Our Email List

PayPal Verified

Chapter Information

The Pittsburgh Alumni Chapter was chartered on July 22, 1922.The chapter was formed by Founder Dr. Marcus P. Blakemore and was one of the first twenty chapters organized. During its infancy, the chapter worked hard to make an impact in the Pittsburgh community. The chapter held numerous social events to unite people who strove for achievement. Edward Harris left Pittsburgh shortly after the founding of the chapter and helped to form Marshall Alumni in Texas in 1928 and served as the Keeper of Exchequer. In the early years of the chapter, meetings were held at brothers' houses and different YMCA's in the area.

The Pittsburgh Alumni Chapter has oversight of six undergraduate chapters in Western PA and Northern West Virginia. The Beta Epsilon Chapter, now housed at the University of Pittsburgh, was chartered on September 19, 1937 at Duquesne University. The following chapters branch off of Beta Epsilon: Epsilon Chi (West Virginia University), Zeta Eta (California University of Pennsylvania), Lambda Upsilon (Indiana University of Pennsylvania), Mu Phi (Clarion University), and Nu Zeta (Edinboro University).

Pittsburgh Alumni Chapter proudly recognizes the achievements of several local brothers. Lt. Col. George N. Charlton, Jr., and Eric S. Morris are recipients of the Elder Watson Diggs Award. The Elder Watson Diggs Award is the highest honor bestowed upon a member of the fraternity for meritorious achievement.

Other influential brothers in the Pittsburgh area include: Mike Tomlin, Samuel Stephenson, George Simmons, Aaron Walton, DeWitt Walton, Chauncey Smith, and Alex Johnson, all current or former recipients of the Pittsburgh Courierís Men of Influence Award or Men of Excellence Award, Mike Tomlin is the Head Coach of the Pittsburgh Steelers. Samuel Stephenson is a Principal of Parente Randolph, one of the Top 35 accounting and consulting firms in the country. George Simmons is the Regional Director of the Pennsylvania Human Relations Commission. Aaron Walton is the Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs for Highmark, Inc. DeWitt Walton is a National Board Member of Americans for Democratic Action, Vice President of the A. Philip Randolph Institute, and Vice President of Just Harvest, which is an anti-hunger organization serving Western Pennsylvania. Chauncey Smith is the Director of EEO Compliance and Diversity for the H.J. Heinz Company. Alex Johnson is the President of the Community College of Allegheny County.